thoughts

Be Fearless!

fewar

Don’t let the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game. I’m pretty sure we all have heard that before. Sometimes its hard to push our fears aside but I’m telling you it worth it!

I had a little taste of fear about a year and half ago when I was all alone in Phoenix and didn’t have a single friend. You’re probably wondering why I moved out here if I didn’t know anyone? Well funny story…. Let me take you back a little to January 2015.

January 2015 I decided to move across the country with my boyfriend at the time. Yes, I was THAT girl that followed a guy. My thoughts at the time was “what do I have to lose?” He was from Phoenix and I always knew after college he would be moving back. So I mentally prepared myself that I would be moving too.

When we finally made the move obviously I had this family and friends out here that made the transition pretty easy for me. So how did I not know anyone or not have friends? Well we broke up 8 months later…I bet you didn’t see that coming haha

So obviously we shared a lease for an apartment and shared all the furniture… What’s a girl to do? Oh and the best part, I still didn’t have a true job out here. I was managing a Pier 1 Imports, but I was barely getting by.

3,000 miles away from home, broke, and no friends. What the heck? Well thank you Craigslist! Yes, yes I did. I needed a place to live and I couldn’t afford to live alone, so I turned to Craigslist! Talk about facing a fear right there. I found these two nice girls looking for a third roommate to fill their extra room. We met for wine, and boom, roommates!

When I told my father he was like, “Kelli, are you sure? Is that safe?” And that right there is when I learned a really valuable lesson. I told my father, “Dad, sometimes you just gotta do whatcha gotta do. Gotta suck it up and make the best of it!” I’m not exactly sure if he loved that answer, but he was supporting of my decision.

Luckily I have amazing family back home that helped support me and give me encouragement to stay out in Phoenix. It was never a question to leave. People ask me all the time why I would stay out in a place I don’t know where I don’t know anyone. I still say why not? Yes a boy brought me out here, but I am my own person. I built my career out in Phoenix and over the past year and a half I have found some of the best friends I could ask for!

So be fearless. Take a chance. Take a leap of faith. Plans change. They always will. Bend with the, don’t break. I know it make seem scary and you may not know the outcome; but that is what makes it fun. Staying out in Phoenix has made me a better person. I know I am fully capable of being alone. I have stepped out of my comfort zone of meeting complete strangers. I left two major companies to finally double my salary. Life is about taking risks and trusting yourself to figure it out.

Happy Taco Tuesday! Be happy, be well, be you!

 

Leave a Reply

